Skip to content

Sketchbooks on my mind

November 18, 2010

Back in my school girl days I carried a sketchbook with me everywhere I went. My blue line el rides where filled with sharpie scribbling in the book trying to capture all the ideas spilling from my head. It saddens me that is really not the case anymore. Confession time- I really haven’t found a the right sketchbook yet. The book really needs to SPEAK to me- make me itch to sketch. You may think that this is easy but… no… no …no…

Requirements

  • Needs to be able to fit in my bag. No more then 6″ big
  • On the flip side it cannot be super tiny. My hand needs to fit on the page
  • Fun, artistic cover. Nothing to cheesy.
  • NO LINES
  • Preferable brown recycled paper. It’s not only b/c of the carbon footprint but I love the way the sharpie looks on the page.

Arn’t these cute? They meet all my criteria plus the added bonus of the spiral edge. I just found this website Olive & Myrtle – they have all substainable products and they are pretty cute and really well priced. Now all I need is fine tipped sharpies… Did I mention that it is the only thing I can sketch with? I have a problem.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 19, 2010 7:30 am

    I never carry a sketchbook, but oddly, have been keeping one with me all week. Possibly an indication that my memory is not as solid as it once was? Or just a nostalgic indulgence in creative ideas? I’ll choose the latter!! 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

