Skip to content

My Midwest is showing

December 1, 2010

For as long as I can remember, every year I would bear the cold Chicago streets to sneak a peek at the Christmas windows Marshal Fields put on. How beautiful. How inspiring. How…it has stuck with me. My cousins always flew from one window to another while I would sit and take every last detail in. If I was allowed I would have stood out there all day.

After we would duck inside the bright warm department store and work our way up to the top floor to peer down at the miraculous tree taking up the entire Walnut room. The years we spent  HOURs waiting to get a table as close as possible to the tree. I would occupied myself wandering through the amazing furniture section imagining what my future bedroom would look like – how I just loved the wide plank wood flooring – the armchair next to the floor to ceiling windows with snow falling down looking over the city.

Marshal Fields is an amazing building inside and out. I am convinced that it started my obsession with architecture and design. Oh how I wish I were going home for the holidays.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 1, 2010 1:17 pm

    haven’t been to Chicago in absolutely years – Marshall Field’s is totally where it’s at. Nothing even remotely compares here in my home town.

Leave a Reply

