Skip to content

Wild west #1 Rodarte

March 30, 2011

As I sit at my kitchen table hearing the birds chirp and green leaves blow in the sweet wind I have to remind myself that it is March. This month where I grew up was sea-saw of bitter coldness one day and then heat wave ( low 60’s) the next. Throughout my childhood I had an affinity for all things west- maybe it was the nightly chapters from the Little House on the Prairie series- maybe it was from the countless trips to the Field Musuem with my dad who spent hours in the Native American wing. No one can be quite sure. That is why I have decided to start a series about all things from the wild west and how it effects my style.

What better way to start then Rodartes truly inspirational Fall 2011 line. The deep blue hues mixed with natural tones of wheat and oat transport me what the settlers must of seen on  the untamed prairie. I love the boots, the long flowing skirts, structured coats- I could go on forever. Classic uses of lace and patchwork make my heart sing.

 

Article about fashion and quilting

Source Images

Quilt exhibit at Folk Art Museum

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

