Skip to content

Must Have = Made by me flowing floral dress

May 4, 2011

Left to right: Me, Becky, Crystal, Anne (yes we are at an Ihop wearing plastic crowns)

Last week Becky and I ventured down to Costa Mesa for a Royal Wedding party thrown by Von Hemert Interiors with some of the Rue girls, too! Cocktails, gift bag tiaras, furniture and a need-to-have 80,000 ring -what more could a party have? For such a fancy event I knew that a special dress was required (and being me needed to be made not bought).  Now for this creation there is no one point of inspiration. The general floral, flowing, summery vibe is what I had in mind and truthfully this fabric really lent itself to it.  Painter like blooms on sheer fabric over a built-in slip with an elastic waist. My first complicated piece with no pattern rather draped carefully on my sewing form.  Though I was literary snipping off treads minutes before my ride arrived I am quite pleased at the finished product.

So nice to have great ladies in my life!

xoxo

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2011 6:09 pm

    omg i am so happy to know my friend jackie & i weren’t the only 2 girls wearing tiaras that night!!

  2. May 4, 2011 6:10 pm

    p.s. GORGEOUS PRINT!

    • May 4, 2011 6:12 pm

      Isn’t is just! Yes. I wore my tiara for the rest of the night. My boyfriend could not stop laughing.

  3. May 5, 2011 4:07 pm

    Rebecca~ I’m so glad that you girls all got some use out of your tiaras that night! You looked so fabulously royal at the I Hop Restaurant! Thank you Rebecca for adding some royal flare at our party & I loved your dress too!

Leave a Reply

