Skip to content

Wild West: Laura Ingalls Wilder

February 7, 2012

Today in 1867 Laura Ingalls was born in the ‘deep woods’ of Wisconsin. She still to this day is one of the most influential figures in my life.  Her story is filled with such triumph, adventure and pure innocence of a child’s eyes. Little House on the Prairie was read to me nightly as early as I can remember. The sound of my moms voice and the iconic drawings of Garth Williams made my imagination sore.

The wild west became apart of my every being. With my American Girl dolls dressed appropriately we made out way through rivers and over the mountains. Even today I find myself in awe of  my western home and what it must have been like for all the pioneers trekking across the country. It’s so humbling.

I recently found a ‘vintage’ collection of the books at my local general store. The yellow covers and frail pages that smell of musk. I almost snatched them up but decided to have my mom send me our ‘originals’ so I can relive the adventure again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2012 9:34 pm

    Ahhh yes, Laura Ingalls!!!!! I cannot wait to read these books with my kids…hopefully someday! I ❤ Almonzo!

  2. February 8, 2012 11:42 am

    I just finished re-reading all the books not too long ago…Laura Ingalls Wilder is one of my favorite authors. I want to visit all the museums dedicated to her and her family some day. 🙂

Leave a Reply

