Skip to content

gramillie house/1

April 10, 2012

 I’m taking my love of my grandma – Gramille-  and her house and everything that is in it to start a little series about her. Little snippets into her life.  Memories that will forever leave me warm and satisfied inside. Our first stop is her sewing corner- which use to be a huge corner room, big bright flower wallpaper and a basement stacked with bolts of material.  As she spun garments out of thin air I would sit and play with her button collection that was divided by shape, size and color. Her eye for detail and perfection of matching stripes has brought me here today, elbow deep in button up shirts I’m making for my boyfriends birthday. Fingers raw, pricked and burnt.  But it’s all worth it in the end when he wears them ( over and over) and to know that I made them just for him, like all the garments she made for me.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2012 11:40 pm

    Very great visual! Sounds like you had an amazing grandma! =)

  2. April 10, 2012 11:59 pm

    My “Grammy” used to sew on the same type of machine and I love those memories as well. Great post!

  3. Adrienne Struck permalink
    April 11, 2012 1:17 pm

    I’m so glad that you followed in her footsteps! It’s also great that you’ve been sewing since you were 6!

Leave a Reply

