Skip to content

Brick facade

April 16, 2012

There is something about brick buildings that gets my architecture nerdy-ness going. (Don’t even get me started on fire escapes)  The older and more weather worn the brick is the more beautiful it becomes.  My ABSOLUTE favorite are the shut up windows. The distinction of color and pattern. It gives new life to what would be lifeless facade.

the first image was found via internet, click for source. the second image I took while taking a long walk around Chicago. (check out more of my instagram @rebecca_bee)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2012 12:23 am

    One of the other things I like about pic #1 is the coal soot staining in the brick.

  2. April 17, 2012 10:46 am

    I love it. I’ve always wondered why in Toronto, where I am, fire-escapes were never really a “thing” with brick apartment buildings. They’re all over new york, but I’ve only seen a handful here, and most of those have been on large 3-story brick houses (which may or may not be duplexes)

Leave a Reply

