Skip to content

Inspired by Eames: husband and wife

May 29, 2012

Confession time…. I’ve known about the Eames… as in ‘charles’ with his famous chairs but I didn’t really know about Charles and Ray Eames, married power couple and creative geniuses. This documentary ‘Eames: the architect and the painter’  (on netflix)gives an intimate look into the lives of the Venice company, their ups and downs and how they never derailed from their vision. Also… this underlying discussion about feminism and the questionable credit given to Ray.

A few things that really stuck with me from this film. 1) create the lifestyle you want to live with the space you live and work in. It should be an ever fluid work of art. 2) Surround yourself with people who inspire you on many levels. 3) Create just to create. Use different mediums. Do it for YOURSELF. This is one thing I really need to work on and not stop to think ‘i should take a photo for my blog’. Now go watch it. You will not be disappointed.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 29, 2012 9:57 pm

    Thank you for this! I’m currently mid-process of step 1, and while it’s the most rewarding thing I’ve ever pursued in my life, it’s possible the effing craziest! Today was one of those days where I needed a wonderful reminder of why I do it; and this post fit the bill beautifully 🙂

  2. May 30, 2012 5:36 pm

    Yes! I love them as well and also loved the documentary. SO GOOD. I was lucky that my bf worked at DWR and sort of schooled me on the dynamic duo. Plus they have roots in my homestate and their workshop was in Venice! Eeeps! ❤ ❤ ❤

Leave a Reply

