Skip to content

Making the best of it

October 4, 2012

Well, I’m back after a self instructed break from social media and general reality for the past few days. Over the past 6 months my employment at one establishment has been shaky to say the least. Not that I am not fully enjoying the creative gigs I’ve been up to with friends and my continued time at the Vintage Table Co. but life is life and it’s time to pay the bills.  Sacrifices and coffee house jobs must be had if one desires to be a creative professional. I get it but yet I’m over it at the same time.

Long story short, there was a job opening that I really wanted. Every aspect seem to be fate: it was for interior design, close to my house, flexible hours… the list could go on. The employer asked me to create a mood board and 3D  model of a fantasy space. Flexing those design muscles in this particular way really made me happy. Happy in a way that I haven’t felt in a bit. End of story, I didn’t get it. I understand you don’t get everything you go out for… I understand it wasn’t the right fit on their side… I GET IT… but it still really bummed me out. Made me reevaluate what I am doing with my life (this corresponds with my by nearing birthday). So I took a break and found I am doing life… learning from the journey and am thankful that this experience has reinvigorated my design side. It took a few days to get here. It wasn’t an immediate joyous moment.

 Thanks for listening/understanding. It’s nice to talk it out.

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 5, 2012 1:34 am

    Hi Rebecca! I didn’t know you had a blog.
    My unsolicited words of advice to you are cliche but true: You just have to keep getting up and trying again. That’s all there is to it. Feel sorry for yourself for a couple of days and then move on. (Sounds like that’s what you did). The year and a half I’ve been back in London has been tough at times. Disappointments, jobs I didn’t get, things not working out the way I wanted, but you keep chipping away and it usually works out in the end. Best of luck!

Leave a Reply

