Skip to content

highland park adventure

October 29, 2013

HPphoto blue chairAn afternoon walk is a great excuse to pry myself away from the computer screen, get some fresh air & try to stir up a creative spark. The other day I decided to break my norm & head over to the highland park neighborhood for some new discoveries.

HPphoto tracy

I was happily surprised on my arrival to The Platform Experiment that Jusitina Blakley’s pop up shop was up. Miss Justina has such a beautiful eye for texture and mixture of color. My favorite piece on display I first saw on her instagram. It’s really fun seeing it in real life.  Also seeing artist that I know (in real life) and have serious crushes on made me all warm and fuzzy inside. Example of TW Workshop pots above plus some jewelry by Bari Ziperstein (not picuterd).
HPphoto painted chair

My second stop was Matters of Space right next door. It’s filled with beautiful mid-century pieces, ceramics and just the right about of chotchkies for any interior lover to pour over. My favorite (well  maybe one of) was a reupholstered hand painted chair on vintage danish frame (above). The shape, the pattern plus the wood! How could you not need it?
HPphoto stained glass

There were plenty more galleries, interior boutiques and vintage stores on york blvd in highland park. If I were to relocated from my LA east side home of echo park I think that this cozy ‘hood would be my next destination.

Leave a Reply

