Skip to content

Modern Macrame

May 16, 2013

sallyengland1

sallyengland2

sallyengland3

Macrame is making a comeback. There. I said it. Granted I am not the first to declare it but am a big fan. The craigslist/estate sale search for the most over indulgent 70’s piece to put above my sofa (don’t tell my boyfriend) has been on for a bit now. A lot of old pieces have been popping up on etsy and such but they are not all…. as you say gems (this one for example). Sally England contemporary pieces have me reconsidering buying vintage. I know….It was a shock to me as well. Her designs are simplified and elegant. Really letting the knots have their moment.  No fuss with big beads or fraying rope.  Allowing the space to be versatile and not scream ‘hey I’m groovy’. Ya know?

p.s… if you love macrame as much as i do follow her on instagram. you will not regret it.

No comments yet

Leave a comment